CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES November 13, 2019

1. Welcome, Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Butt called the regular meeting of November 13, 2019 to order at 1:30 PM. The following Commissioners and staff were present:

Regular Commissioners	Alternate Commissioners	Staff
Tom Butt, Chair	Diane Burgis	Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer
Candace Andersen, Vice Chair	Stanley Caldwell	Mary Ann Mason, Commission Counsel
Don Blubaugh (Absent)	Chuck Lewis (Seated for Blubaugh)	Lauren Talbott, Executive Assistant
Federal Glover	Sean Wright	
Mike McGill		
Rob Schroder		
Igor Skaredoff		

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Butt led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Adoption of Agenda

Chair Butt asked if there were any requests to modify the agenda; there were no requests. Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, adopted the agenda as submitted:

VOTE:

YES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

4. Approval of Minutes

Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner McGill, the September 11, 2019 meeting minutes were approved.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

5. Public Comments

Chair Butt invited members of the audience to provide public comment. No public comments were received.

At 1:35 p.m., Commissioners adjourned to Closed Session to discuss existing litigation (Los Medanos Community Healthcare District).

At 2:06 p.m., Commissioners reconvened and the Chair reported that the Commission provided direction to staff.

OUT OF AGENCY SERVICE REQUESTS

6. LAFCO 19-06 – City of Martinez – Carquinez Strait Regional Shoreline – consider a request by the City of Martinez to extend municipal water service outside its jurisdictional boundary to two parcels - APN 368-060-005 (82.3+ acres) and 372-140-001 (70.8+ acres) located southwest of 22 Carquinez Scenic Drive in unincorporated Martinez; and consider related actions per the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA)

Property owner Jim Farr commented that water service existed on the property prior to 1969. Comments were also provided by Mr. Compaglia, Rancher; Alison Wolf, Allison Rofe, rangeland Specialist, EBRPD; Christina Ratcliffe, City of Martinez, Community and Economic Development Director; and Mike Callahan, National Resource Conservation Service.;

Upon motion by Commissioner Glover and second by Commissioner Schroder, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved extending Out of Agency (OAS) water service.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

BUSINESS ITEMS

7. Award Contract – 2nd Round Parks & Recreation Services Municipal Services Review/Sphere of Influence Updates - consider approving a contract with the recommended consultants.

Upon motion by Commissioner Lewis and second by Commissioner McGill, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved to execute a contract with EPS/Berkson Associates.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

8. Legislative Report – Update and Position Letter – receive a legislative update – no action needed.

9. FY 2019-20 First Quarter Budget Report – receive FY 2019-20 first quarter budget report

Upon motion by Commissioner Lewis and second by Commissioner Andersen, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, received the report.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

10. *Commissioner Terms* – receive an update regarding Commissioner terms and provide direction regarding Public Member seats.

Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner Glover, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved reappointing public members Commissioner Blubaugh and Commissioner Lewis using the alternate selection process.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

Lewis

11. Response to Contra Costa County Chapter - California Grand Juror's Association (CCGJA) - consider approving response to CCGJA relating to the Los Medanos Community Healthcare District.

Upon motion by Commissioner Andersen and second by Commissioner McGill, the Commission unanimously, by a 7-0 vote, approved the drafted response.

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, Lewis, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

NONE

CORRESPONDENCE

- 12. Correspondence from Contra Costa County Employees' Retirement Association (CCCERA)
- 13. SDRMA President's Special Acknowledgement Awards Property/Liability Program and Workers' Compensation Program

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

14. Commissioner Comments and Announcements

- Commissioner McGill announced that Contra Costa LAFCO was named the *Most Effective Commission* at the 2019 annual CALAFCO Conference and thanked the Executive Officer for nominating the Commission. Commissioner McGill also provided an update on the CALAFCO Legislative Committee and noted that he was appointed as the CALAFCO Chair.
- Commissioner Skaredoff commended Commissioner McGill for his hard work and continuous participation/involvement in CALAFCO; and commented on the State Estuary Conference, Climate Adaptation Roundtable, and EBRPD's 85th Birthday.
- Chair Butt noted that he recently attended and enjoyed the CALAFCO annual conference and appreciated the award.

15. Staff Announcements

- CALAFCO Updates Conference Highlights
 - Contra Costa LAFCO was nominated and awarded *Most Effective Commission*.
 - Executive Officer Lou Ann Texeira announced she's stepping down from the CALAFCO Legislative Committee after serving for many years.

- Pending Projects
- Newspaper Articles

The meeting adjourned at 2:39 pm.

Final Minutes Approved by the Commission December 11, 2019

VOTE:

AYES:

Andersen, Butt, Glover, McGill, Schroder, Skaredoff

NOES:

NONE

ABSENT:

NONE

ABSTAIN:

Blubaugh

ADJOURNMENT

The next regular LAFCO meeting is December 11, 2019 at 1:30 pm.

LAFCO STAFF REPORTS AVAILABLE AT

Executive Officer